Plant pot painting with Hello Marilu Studio

As the blog name suggests, part of my journey for working out what I want to do with my life involves pursuing as many of my curiosities as possible to find out what I do and don’t like. A lot of these will take me far out of my comfort zone, like this one!

On Saturday I went to a paint a planter workshop with Hello Marilu Studio at the very cool lifestyle store SMUG in Islington. The workshop was run by the lovely Mary-Ann, who set up the creative lifestyle brand Hello Marilu. As always, there was such an interesting mix of people attending: myself and my friend Katy who are both pretty novice on the craft front, Ruth a design blogger for Design Soda and 2 creative ladies on holiday from India and Saudi Arabia. With Katy and I having not painted since school, this had the potential to be rather embarrassing!

IMG_2729
Mary-Ann’s beautiful creations to inspire us

Mary-Ann eased us in by walking us through different mark making techniques, which we then practiced to get a feel for the different paintbrushes – a lot harder than it looked! Having a small group was really nice as it meant we could get as much help from Mary-Ann as we needed.

IMG_9827
Mark making techniques

Then we moved onto colour. As someone who is incredibly indecisive, this was particularly challenging and even though I liked the colours I went for in the end, I couldn’t help but be jealous of everyone else’s colour combos! I think I’m going to have to make some more to add to my collection.

IMG_1046
Bit of gold leaf to jazz it up

Then the real fun started and we got to move onto painting the pots. It was surprisingly therapeutic and the time flew past; in fact we ended up running over. But I LOVED having the chance to be so creative after being cooped up in an office all week looking at boring spreadsheets.

I have to say I’m pretty impressed with the end result. Now I just have to stop my cats from eating the plant…

IMG_9364
My plant pot!
IMG_8337.JPG
Our little creations

Check out Mary-Ann’s workshops here. And for some more plant pot inspo, this Insta account is pretty dreamy @thiswaytothecircus!

Leave a Reply

